To Cry

More numb now, I only cry
over the disapproving scarlet ink,
no longer for the way you
said my name, half smirking, half sincere
when you tormented me
like a chuckling God, or more.
Self-imposed deity with an arrogance
unmatched but charming
to my naivety. I enjoyed the misery
you unintentionally broke me with
because it was yours and through your careless.
confidence, I pretended, mine.
You, an untouchable blemish in my mind,
purposely out of reach for self preservation.
Over optimistic of the power of hours, days, months,
my thoughts touch were you left the void
and again, my eyes vomit, reluctant misery.

SS

3 thoughts on “To Cry

Leave a Reply

